Be the First to Review


The National Institute of Technology, Surat (NIT Surat), formally known as Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology (SVNIT), is an public technical university established by the Parliament of India in 1961. It is one of 30 National Institutes of Technology in India recognized by the Government of India as an Institute of National Importance.[1] It is the Anchor Institute for the Auto and Engineering sector and will be training the workforce.[2][3] The project is also designated as the "Center of Excellence" in water resources and flood management and is supported by the World Bank. The institute organizes annual cultural and technical festivals: MindBend (technical festival) and Sparsh[5] (cultural festival) that attract participants from all over the country and abroad.




In order to serve the growing demand for trained quality technical manpower, the Government Of India established fourteen Regional Engineering Colleges (RECs) between 1959 and 1965, now known as NITs with campuses at Surat, Allahabad, Bhopal, Calicut, Durgapur, Kurukshetra, Jamshedpur, Jaipur, Nagpur, Rourkela, srivada, Surathkal, Tiruchirappalli, and Warangal.


Under its former name, Sardar Vallabhbhai Regional College of Engineering and Technology, NIT Surat was established in June 1961 as a co-operative venture between the Government of India and the Government of Gujarat. The institute is named after India's first Home Minister, fondly known as the Ironman of India, honorable Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel.


A review committee (HPRC) was set up by the Union Government in 1998 for review of RECs. The HPRC, under the chairmanship of Dr. R.A. Mashelkar submitted its report entitled "Strategic Road Map for Academic Excellence of Future RECs" in 1998. Following the recommendations of HPRC, in 2002, the Union Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India upgraded all the seventeen Regional Engineering Colleges (RECs) to National Institutes of Technology (NITs). On 4 December 2002 the institution was granted Deemed University status with the approval of the UGC/AICTE and was renamed Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology.


On 5 June 2007, the Parliament of India passed the National Institutes of Technology Act declaring it an Institute of National Importance which came into effect on Independence Day 2007.


Programmes Offered - 

Admission to most undergraduate and postgraduate courses in NIT Surat is granted through written entrance examinations. Admission to M.Tech. and Ph.D. programmes is based primarily on a personal interview, though candidates have to take written tests as well.


Admission to undergraduate programmes in all NITs is through the All India Engineering Entrance Examination now known as JEE Main. Candidates who qualify for admission through JEE Main can apply for admission in B.Tech. (Bachelor of Technology) and Integrated M.Sc. (Master of Science) courses at NIT Surat.[7] The admissions to postgraduate programmes (M.Tech.) are made primarily through the Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE). Integrated MSc program was started in the year 2007, in three branches, Applied Chemistry, Applied Physics, Applied Mathematics. This program now has 90 seats each.


NIT Surat follows the reservation policy declared by the Supreme Court of India, by which 27% of seats are reserved for Other Backward Classes (OBCs), 15% for Scheduled Castes (SCs), and 7.5% for Scheduled Tribes (STs). The institute also accepts foreign nationals through scholarships awarded by the Government of India, and non-resident Indians through an independent scheme known as Direct Admission for Students Abroad (DASA).


Sponsored research

Research in the institute is sponsored by government agencies including Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and the Department of Science and Technology (DST); in 2008–09, research grants from these agencies exceeded one crore Indian rupees (Rs. 1,00,00,000; approx. US$200,000). The campus also boasts of having India's first solar plant to desalinate seawater. This was set up at an investment of Rs. 3,50,00,000