Dr. Kanailal Bhattacharya College, Santragachi

Be the First to Review


It had been a long cherished dream of the people of Santragachi to have a degree College in their locality. The dream gradually turned into a reality when Late Sudhir Kumar Ghosh decided to donate his land and the building situated at Dharmatala in Ramrajatala. After that with the initiative of the then local MLA Sri Satyen Ghosh and some important persons of the area, a trustee was formed before setting up the College on 26th November, 1984. On 10th March, 1985 in a public meeting presided over by Late. Raghudas Baul and attended by Late Sudhir Kumar Ghosh, the College was named after the leading educationist, respected public leader and ex-minister of Industry and Commerce (Govt. of W.B.), Late Professor Dr. Kanailal Bhattacharyya. A nine-member committee was set up with the then District Magistrate of Howrah Sri Sumanta Chowdhury as the President. On 22nd September 1985, the College was officially inaugurated by Late Professor Sambhu Ghosh, the then Hon'ble Minister of Higher Education of Govt. of West Bengal. On 20th January 1988, Sri Nripendranath Bhattacharyya joined as the first Principal.

Charity show by Mrs. Mamata Shankar and her ballet troupe, State Government permitted lottery, donation of Rs. 2 Lakhs from the magazine “Dakshini Barta” with the personal initiative of the then local M.P. Sri Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi and personal donation of Rs. 1 Lakh by Sri Debkumar Chowdhury set the pace for development of the College. Late Sailendranath Das, Sri BImal Kumar Das, Sri Sansanka Kumar Das, Sri Arun Kumar Das of Ramrajatala, Kona Road donated a plot of land measuring nearly 18 Kothas for infrastructure. Various Grants from UGC, MPLAD schemes and  from Government of West Bengal have also contributed to give the College its present shape as one of the leading institutions in Howrah district.

Dr. Dilip Kumar Sahoo joined as Principal from 1st December, 1999. Under his effective guidance and leadership, the college participated in the NAAC assessment (National Accreditation Assessment Council) in 2004 and became the first College in Howrah to achieve the laurel by securing C++. The College later on participated in two more cycles of NAAC successfully in the year 2009 securing GRADE C and 2014 securing GRADE B. As a result of the successful completion of 3 cycles of NAAC Re- Accreditation, the College received the RUSA grant of 2 Crore rupees which has been utilized for infrastructural and academic development.

Dr. Kaustubh Lahiri  has taken charge as the Principal from 9th December, 2016.


http://drklbcadmission.in/courses.php-courses offered

https://drklbcollege.ac.in/fees-structure/-fee structure