Central University Of Jammu, Samba, J&K 181143

Be the First to Review

COLLEGE NAME: Central University of Jammu, Samba, J&K – 181143


The Central University of Jammu came into existence on August 08, 2011, with the appointment of  the first Vice-Chancellor. It was established by the Central Universities Act, 2009 (Act No.25 of 2009 read with the Central Universities Act, 2009).

The first academic session (2011-2012) commenced with three Post Graduate courses in English, Economics and Applied Mathematics at Temporary Academic Block-I (TAB-I) at Sidhra bypass road, Jammu. In the next academic session (2012-2013),five PG Courses were added: Computer Science, Educational Studies, Environmental Sciences, Human Resource Management and Travel & Tourism Management in Temporary Academic Block (TAB-II) at Sainik Colony Extension. Since the third session (2013-2014) all the departments are functioning from TAB at Sainik Colony. Four new post graduate courses were introduced in the academic session (2014-2015): National Security Studies; Public Policy & Public Administration; Social Work and Mass Communication & New Media. The University also offers Integrated M-Phil-Ph.D programme in eight subjects.

The University carries out its administrative functions from its head office at Bagla, Rahya-Suchani, Distt. Samba.

The Central University of Jammu campus is under construction at Village Bagla, Raya Suchani in District Samba, which is at an approximate distance of 25 kms from Jammu.





Bachelor of Commerce [B.Com]

3 year(s)


Master of Commerce [M.Com]

2 year(s)


Master of Science [M.Sc]

2 year(s)


Bachelor of Arts [BA]

3 year(s)



The University shall follow reservation in admission as mandated under the Central

Educational Institutions (Reservation of Seats) Act 2006, as amended from time to time.

  1. *The University shall also follow reservation in admission in all Programmes of Study in

accordance with the Persons with Disabilities (Equal Opportunities, Protection of Rights and

Full Participation) Act, 1995 and The Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016.

  1. Accordingly, the University shall reserve seats in all Programmes of Study for admission as

under for the students belonging to:

  1. Scheduled Caste (SC) Category 15.0%
  2. Scheduled Tribe (ST) Category 7.5%

iii. Other Backward Classes (OBC)

Category – Non-creamy layer


  1. Persons with Disabilities (PWD) 5.0%
  2. EWS (Economic Weaker Section) 10% of total seats (over and

above the total intake)

 * 5.0% horizontal reservation shall be provided in each programme of study to differently abled persons

  1. Persons suffering from not less than forty per cent (40%) of any disability as certified by a

competent medical authority would be considered for admission under PWD category.

  1. The candidates applying under the reserved categories shall need to submit the category

Certificates (SC/ST/OBC Non-Creamy Layer Certificate/ EWS/PWD issued by the competent

authority in the prescribed format at the time of submission of Application Form and produce

the same in original for verification at the time of admission/registration. Non-Creamy Layer

certificate should not have been issued earlier than six (6) months from the date of registration.

  1. If a candidate in the reserved category qualifies for admission in the general category s/he

shall be treated as a general category candidate. If sufficient number of candidates are not

available to fill up the seats reserved for Scheduled Tribes, these may be filled up by suitable

candidates from Scheduled Castes and vice-versa. If sufficient number of candidates are not

available to fill up the seats reserved for OBCs, these may be filled up by suitable candidates

from General Category


Bachelor of Commerce [B.Com]

Master of Commerce [M.Com]

Master of Science [M.Sc]

Bachelor of Arts [BA]